EUDXF Board Elections coming up

Three years have passed which means EUDXF Board elections will be held during the upcoming annual meeting, August 27, 2022 in Bad Bentheim.

As the rules of the foundation prescribe, all members may propose candidates. In order to ensure that the procedures surrounding the board elections run smoothly, these proposals must be in the possession of the board by 1 June 2022 at the latest via


EUDXF Founding President Dieter Löffler (ex DK9KD) SK

With deep sadness we have to announce that our first president Dieter Löffler has passed away on 16 February 2022.

Our life-member passed away just few days after his 86th birthday. When EUDXF was founded in 1986, Dieter volunteered as first President of our club and he served in this position for a remarkable period of eleven years. Despite his high workload from running his own company in Cologne he restlessly worked enthusiastically in order to establish and expand the young DX foundation and to further develop it to a trade mark in the DX community. From its very beginning it was Dieter’s merit that EUDXF grew to a powerful association which was able to support countless DXpeditions around the globe. Many of the QSL cards from these “good old times” show the EUDXF logo due to generous sponsoring which in many cases was not paid by membership contributions rather than Dieter’s personal budget. Dieter took care that from the very beginning all EUDXF members received the annual newsletter. Only his wish to retire from his responsible task led to a handover into younger hands in 1997. It is hard to overestimate his support and devotion to our foundation. We owe him a great debt of gratitude for his extraordinary dedication. We will honour his memory.

On behalf of the EUDXF Board and Officers,

Dominik, DL5EBE – EUDXF President

EUDXF Board member Hans PB2T winner of the ‘Roy Stevens G2BVN Memorial Trophy’

The winners of the ‘Roy Stevens G2BVN Memorial Trophy’ were announced during the meeting of the IARU Region 1 Conference on October 24, 2021. Hans Blondeel Timmerman (PB2T) and also Ole Garpestad (LA2RR) have been added to the illustrious company of winners of this trophy. The coveted trophy is awarded to radio amateurs who have best illustrated the work and dedication of Roy Stevens (G2BVN) in international amateur radio. Radio amateurs from all over the world are eligible. The decision regarding the award of the trophy was made by an independent panel, chaired this year by SARL Secretary Dennis Green (ZS4BS).

Hans Blondeel Timmerman (PB2T) was chairman of IARU Region 1 from 2008 to 2014 and the secretary for the last four years. Before that, Hans Blondeel Timmerman was a member of the Executive Committee from 2002 and chairman of the Region 1 External Relations Committee. Hans Blondeel Timmerman has been IARU Satellite Advisor since 2016 and chairs the global IARU panel that coordinates frequency allocations for satellites in amateur frequencies. In addition, he has been widely involved in ITU and CEPT affairs. He has also led activities related to critical agenda items for amateur radio services in CEPT matters in preparation for the World Radio Conferences.

The EUDXF is proud to have Hans PB2T as a Board Member and we like to congratulate him with this well deserved award!